Missouri Licensing Requirements
At the request of many agents, we have put together a list of education requirements for real estate agents in the state of Missouri. If you have any questions regarding your specific situation, please call your state's real estate regulatory commission, your local board or association office and/or talk to your broker.
NOTE: Effective January 1, 2011, all applicants for an original Missouri license are required to be fingerprinted for a Missouri and federal criminal history background check.
The prospective agent will need to complete a 48-hour pre-examination course. After completing this course, he or she will then have 6 months to take and pass the real estate examination administered by AMP (the testing company) and complete a 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course and apply for a license. Timeframes are critical. It is imperative that licensees watch their dates closely.
Before a person can become a real estate broker in the state of Missouri, he or she must first be licensed as a salesperson. The salesperson must show that he or she has been actively engaged in the real estate business for 24 of the last 30 months immediately preceding the date of application, complete the 48-hour broker course and take and pass the real estate brokerage examination. The examination, administered by AMP, must be successfully passed and the application for licensure must be received by the Missouri Real Estate Commission no later than 6 months after completing the 48-hour broker course.
Missouri state license renewal and continuing education requirements:
If a licensee fails to complete his or her education by the proper date, it will cause a loss of license and the licensing process must begin again. Missouri education requirements are 12 hours of courses. 3 hours of these courses must be in the form of a core class and the remaining 9 hours can be in elective classes. Course providers must be approved by the MREC and must supply the student with a proper certificate of completion for each course. Students who complete education in a classroom setting can only receive credit for 6 hours of course work in a 24 hour period. Students who complete education using an online service are not limited in daily credit hours.NOTE: The Commission did not name a specific core course for the 2010-2012 renewal period. Rather, there are several options for core courses and they may fall under any of the following areas. (20 CSR 2250-10.100 (3) (A)-(F)):
· Missouri Laws governing the transfer of real property
· Broker supervision and escrow account management
· Fair Housing
· Property Management
· Commercial brokerage
· Agency and brokerage relationships
Licensees that are in referral:
The National Association of REALTORS® requires regular ethics training which runs in four year cycles. The dates of our current cycle are January 1st, 2009 – December 31st, 2012. REALTORS must take an approved Code of Ethics course during that four-year period. Failure to complete the course can result in loss of local, state and national membership. The board or association the licensee belongs to is charged with tracking its members' ethics compliance. Check NAR requirements for more details.
If an agent takes this class from an entity other than the local board or association, he or she will be responsible for notifying his or her board or local association of the course completion. NOT all courses will satisfy the ethics requirement. It is important to verify that a course will satisfy the ethics requirement. The Real Estate Ethics course at 1st Choice Real Estate School has been approved to satisfy this requirement. Sometimes an ethics course is approved by the state licensing office as a continuing education class. In this case, the agent may satisfy both the national requirement and count those hours towards state education requirements. Most new members of a board or association are required to take an orientation course. This orientation course will NOT count towards state continuing education. Non- REALTORS® are not required to complete ethics training.
Please note: Licensing rules are subject to change. To verify course requirements, please contact the MREC at 573-751-2628 or visit the Missouri Real Estate Commission's web site at http://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp.
- Log In / My Account
- Online Courses
- Classroom Pre-License Courses
- Code of Ethics training
- Special Purpose Purchases
- Student Information
- Why Choose 1st Choice?
- Bulletin Board
- Contact Us
- COURSE DEMO
- About Our Instructors
- State Real Estate Commissions
- See What Our Students Are Saying